Once Upon a Time in the Ashes is the podcast that celebrates the English and Australian cricketers who played in just one Ashes test match.

There are 134 in total who hold this claim to fame. 89 of them have sadly passed away, including Eric Hollies who bowled the Don for that famous duck to deny Bradman his perfect average of 100.

45 of them are still with us – 24 from England and 21 from Australia. On the English side this ranges from Ken Taylor, who played his one Ashes test in 1964, to Sam Curran in 2019. For Australia, the span is Keith Slater in 1959 to Ed Cowan in 2013.

Stay tuned to Once Upon a Time in the Ashes for interviews and features with them all.

Available on Spotify, Apple and Google now.

Episode 22 – Jo Angel Once Upon a Time in the Ashes

Jo Angel, of Midland Guildford  and Western Australia, replaced Peter McIntyre in the Australian side for the 5th Test of the 1994-95 Ashes series in Australia. It was to be his 4th and final Test for the national side and it would come at his home ground, the WACA in Perth. Jo tells us about chaotic debuts, a thrilling series againt the West Indies, AK-47s in Pakistan and getting 'barbecued' in both innings in his one and only Ashes Test.
  1. Episode 22 – Jo Angel
  2. Episode 21 – Peter McIntyre
  3. Episode 20 – Steve Watkin
  4. Episode 19 – John Stephenson & Alan Igglesden
  5. Episode 18 – Greg Campbell
  6. 1984-85 Women’s Jubilee Series Special
  7. Episode 17 – Dave Gilbert
  8. Episode 16 – Murray Bennett
  9. Episode 15 – Jonathan Agnew
  10. Episode 14 – Arnie Sidebottom

Latest Posts

Follow Me

Get new content delivered directly to your inbox.

%d bloggers like this: